cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 857w - Restore to Factory Default?

natestreet
Level 1
Level 1

Does anyone know the procedure to restore the 857w Router to factory default? I've recently moved and have since forgotten the password to the device. The router is now useless and I'd like to simply start over.

Any help greatly appreciated!!

9 Replies 9

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello Nate,

there is a password recovery procedure

see

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/routers/access/800/850/software/configuration/guide/trouble.html#wp1038210

you need to connect with a console cable using a terminal emulation SW like hyper terminal

to type the break at router startup use

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps133/products_tech_note09186a0080174a34.shtml

Hope to help

Giuseppe

Thank you Giuseppe!

I'm afraid I am an absolute amateur when it comes to Cisco devices however. I stumbled upon those instructions earlier, however, I am not familiar with how to actually connect THROUGH the console cable.

I opened up telnet in Windows and typed Console, however, nothng happened. What port are connecting through? LPT1?

Very confused. Do you know exactly which program I should use and how exactly I will connect. I do have the blue cable that came with the device, however, I am not sure how to specify that cable to communicate through!

Thanks again!

Hello Nate,

the blue cable should have one side that is a DB9 you need to connect it a serial port like COM1.

the other side that is like a LAN cable (RJ-45) is to be connected to the router port labeled console

if you have a modern laptop the DB9 serial port can be missing. In this case you should buy an RS-232 to USB adapter

Hope to help

Giuseppe

Hi Giuseppe:

Thank you, once the cable is connected how do I communicate to the router through a hyper terminal?

You would never know I'm a Network Admin! I work with Windows Server.