cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Conversion cell atm per min - to - kps

pesanchez2002
Level 1
Level 1

I have a link to 128 kbps, and the supplier tells me that has the following consumption:

7.22 cell p min ----- 46.208 kbps

11.88 cell p min ----- 76.032 kbps

Which is the formula for conversion, to validate that this conversion is correct?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

ajagadee
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Pedro,

I am not an ATM Expert but let me try and explain this to you.

I think your provider is using bps conversion of 384, that is 48 Bytes per cell. Typically, the value of 384 is used when the reference date is the non ATM entering an ATM core.

48 * 8 = 384.

So,

(7.22 * 384)/60 = 46.208

Regards,

Arul

*Pls rate all helpful posts*

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3

ajagadee
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Pedro,

I am not an ATM Expert but let me try and explain this to you.

I think your provider is using bps conversion of 384, that is 48 Bytes per cell. Typically, the value of 384 is used when the reference date is the non ATM entering an ATM core.

48 * 8 = 384.

So,

(7.22 * 384)/60 = 46.208

Regards,

Arul

*Pls rate all helpful posts*

Something appears wrong here. ATM calculation must always include a cell header of 5 bytes, so the multiplicative factor is 53, not 48.