Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Dumb questions about ATM interface :)

OK, since i am fairly new to networking, here is my questions...

If i had a router, and the one interface was pointing to the ATM interface, what would be considered the ATM? Would it be the switch from the service provider or what?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

If you have the option between an ATM and ethernet uplink for a simple CPE, the only reason to choose ATM is if you are supporting something fancy like interleaved VBR priority traffic, VoATM, or multiple VCs to different edge routers or devices. Odds are you don't need to do this, so connect to the ethernet port.

If you have no CPE and must choose between ATM and frame or IP T1 lines, then you might want to consider ATM for the low latency cell-based multiplexing to scale past 1xT1, but only if you can find the IMA interfaces cheap and the provider actually supports IMA.

ATM would have been better accepted if the interfaces had not been so expensive (it has an awesome feature set), but these days it is a more or less a dead technology outside the provider backbone where there are people who actually value its features enough to learn how to use it.

View solution in original post

13 Replies 13

marikakis
Level 7
Level 7

Lots of entities create "the ATM" :-) I will give you an example:

--------

We have 2 routers on the left and right. Routers have ATM interfaces. They connect to an ATM cloud that has ATM switches via physical links. This is typical ATM setup. Routers at endpoints typically put IP packets into ATM cells and recover IP packets from cells. Within the ATM cloud generally only cells travel. ATM is generally a layer 2 technology.

ok so what is the difference between these....

1. Ethernet interface for PPPoE

Vs.

2. ATM interface for PPPoE

Can anyone help?????

1. An Ethernet interface is used if the router connects to a DSL modem.