Good Software Engineering Practices

Unanswered Question
Mar 4th, 2009

I'm new to Cisco and can't find an appropriate place to discuss general practices, so let me know if there is a better place for this message.

I was a bit disappointed by the approach my Cisco partner took to configuring my router which seemed to be not much better than hacking (as in MIT Model Railway Club). This caused me a lot of lost time and I'm still trying to sort out the mess with TAC.

I've worked in software development for the last 25+ years and so understand the need to control changes. Therefore, I propose setting up a version control system (subversion) for my router's configuration file so I can implement the following sort of change control procedure:

1. Make changes to the 'source' config file using NotePad on my laptop

2. Upload the 'source' config file to the router's running-config using the TFTP server on my laptop

3. Test the changes

4. Copy the running-config to the startup-config on my router

5. Restart the router

6. Test the changes

7. Download the new running-config to the TFTP server on my laptop

8. Update version control for both the 'source' config file and the running-config file in order record + document the change

I'm expecting the 'source' config file and the running-config file to differ only in respect of their comments as I understand that comments are removed by the router's command interpreter when uploading a file to running-config. Is that correct?

Do you have any comments about my proposed change control procedure? What is Cisco's general advice about change control for configuration files? What are people's thoughts about this issue? I can't help feel that my Cisco partner could save themselves (and their clients) a lot of time and money by better handling configuration changes. Like I said, I'm new to the Cisco world so perhaps there are good reasons for doing things like my Cisco Partner. If so, what are they?

I have this problem too.