Help understanding IOS versions

Unanswered Question
Mar 10th, 2009


I know that Cisco provides the following:

ED - early deployment

GD - general deployment

LD - Limited deployment

Can anyone tell me what the stages are?

Is ED released first, then turned into LD and finally GD?

The reason that I ask is that I need to update our stack, but management is saying that they only want a GD release. Understood, but the download area for the 3750G only has EDs available for download.



I have this problem too.
0 votes
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 5 (2 ratings)
Jon Marshall Tue, 03/10/2009 - 12:53

"I wish I could rate myself =)"

You can't but we can :-). Thanks for letting us know.


Joseph W. Doherty Tue, 03/10/2009 - 16:39

Besides lost of LD/GD, what Cisco is doing with "mainline" code is now different too.

Mainline code, was feature frozen with the first release (initially a LD release), all the later releases were fixes (first later release considered really stable was GD). With 12.4 "mainline", new software and/or hardware features may be inserted into later releases (much like what was done with "T" trains). (This is also why you see so many letter suffix 12.4 releases; they should be just fixes.)


This Discussion