cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Need some direction setting up new Cisco router.

PowisCorp
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

My company has recently purchased a Cisco 1811w security router, and the responsibility of getting it up and running (and getting a new network scheme up and running for that matter) has been placed in my lap. While I did take a few networking classes in college, I'm a software engineer by trade and the whole Cisco router configuration is a whole new world.

My requirements are to set the router up to allow for 2 private networks (i.e. 10.10.10.0 and 10.10.20.0). The 2 networks need to be able to communicate with each other on a restricted level, such as nodes on 10.10.20.0 can only access 2 specific hosts on 10.10.10.0 and visa versa. Remote VPN is also a requirement, so that employees from home can access their work computers.

I know there is a lot of documentation on Cisco's website explaining how to do this, but it's getting difficult sifting through all of it to get what I need.

Can anyone offer some direction, such as specific documents I should read, and/or specific network setup/configurations I need to put in place to meet the above requirements.

Your help is much appreciated.

7 Replies 7

John Blakley
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Do you have a layer 3 switch that you're connecting the router to?

A few questions first:

1. Do you know how to get into the router?

2. Will you be using NAT?

3. Do you have public addresses for your internet connection, or are they being assigned?

4. What kind of internet connection do you have?

If you can answer the above, I may be able to point you in the right direction.

HTH,

John

*please rate helpful posts*

HTH, John *** Please rate all useful posts ***

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

My requirements are to set the router up to allow for 2 private networks (i.e. 10.10.10.0 and 10.10.20.0).