Views
Helpful
Replies

Question regarding output of traffic shaping

wongtungho
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

Since last year I deployed the 'shape average BW' to fix the unexpected packet drop by Verizon's PE router. The BW is set to match the BW subscription with Verizon. Getting started the usage monitoring, I started seeing the OQD increasing daily but the Netflow reports the usage is below the max. Today I finally took the shaping away from one of the CE router and see if the packet loss becomes less. On the other hand, I started studying the effect of the parameters for the shaping command.

Below is the router configuration with Verizon link of 3Mbps.

class-map match-all critical

description critical apps

match any

policy-map QoS

class critical

shape average 3000000 12000 0

class class-default

interface GigabitEthernet0/1

description Verizon

no ip address

duplex full

speed 100

service-policy output QoS

interface GigabitEthernet0/1.8

description Verizon

encapsulation dot1Q 8

ip address x.x.x.x 255.255.255.252

ip flow ingress

ip flow egress

no snmp trap link-status

Initially I simply used 'shape average 3000000' and the OQD is large. Today I read some articles about the advanced QoS configuration, it's found that the byte limit is better to be multiple of 1500 (max MTU) and least sustain bit/int so as to get the minimum interval (Tc). Is it true?

Besides, I checked the network usage again by Netflow and found the usage is below the max. Unfortunately the OQD is not zero, as below, and that makes me puzzled.

GigabitEthernet0/1

Service-policy output: QoS

Class-map: critical (match-all)

668950 packets, 116032833 bytes

5 minute offered rate 150000 bps, drop rate 0 bps

Match: any

Traffic Shaping

Target/Average Byte Sustain Excess Interval Increment

Rate Limit bits/int bits/int (ms) (bytes)

3000000/3000000 1500 12000 0 4 1500

Adapt Queue Packets Bytes Packets Bytes Shaping

Active Depth Delayed Delayed Active