Views
Helpful
Replies

General MPLS questions

donlin123
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, All,

I am new to MPLS. Currently I have three branches connected to my Central location. My central location used 2800 series router and three branches all use 1800 series router (with T1 WIC modules). Currently, each branch connects to the central location using point-to-point private T1. We are running EIGRP for routing. Because T1 cost is high, my boss wants to change T1 to MPLS. A MPLS service provider for MPLS told me that they will install MPLS line and install a PE router at each location.

I am new to MPLS so I have some general questions. All I try to do is to replace my T1 with MPLS. I am not familiar with MPLS. Not sure if it is a layer 2 or layer 3 technology.

1. Is MPLS line private like T1? Layer 2 or layer 3?

2. Typically MPLS provider installed a PE router at the site, do they provide me an ethernet port or serial port? My T1 is serial line.

3. If they provide me an ethernet port for me to connect my device, can I still use my private IP address scheme (192.168.X.1) for the my router's interface that connects to PE? I still want to manage the devices and routers that we owned.

4. Does my router IOS need to enable MPLS? If the provider's PE router is the edge router that connect MPLS to non-MPLS

I don't need to enable MPLS in my router, right?

5. Can I still run EIGRP?

Thanks in advance.

4 Replies 4

shivlu jain
Level 5
Level 5

Hi

1. There is nothing like MPLS. If your service provider is the same then there is no requirement to change the line becasue MPLS is technology, It has nothing to do with physical.

2. MPLS PE should be the SP end, there is no requirement to install PE at each of your branch location. MPLS works on ethernet or serial also.

3. THE prime advantage of using MPLS is that you can run any ip schema and shoudl be unique within your cloud. For PE-CE ip addressing may be SP use public ip addresses.