reinstalling LMS 3.1 with ACS

Answered Question
Apr 3rd, 2009


how is the correct method for reinstalling LMS server, which is integrated with ACS? Is the first step unregister LMS application from ACS? Or is possible to leave these application registered with ACS and reinstall LMS and after reinstalling - configure AAA mode and again register these LMS application (is the origin setting of LMS application replaced in ACS??). What is the correct method for reinstalation?? Or is better method the following one:

install new LMS on the new server, then integrated it with ACS (will there new registered applications from this new LMS in ACS or these application will be only once for both LMS servers)? Thank you.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Correct Answer by Joe Clarke about 7 years 6 months ago


  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 5 (1 ratings)
Joe Clarke Fri, 04/03/2009 - 09:18

You do not have to unregister LMS from ACS to do an upgrade. Simply upgrade LMS, then re-integrate it with ACS to sync the new applications, tasks, and roles. Note that some previous ACS LMS configuration may be lost, so be sure to go back and check your ACS groups and roles to make sure they are still correct.

ROMAN TOMASEK Fri, 04/03/2009 - 13:14

Is the same method for re-install LMS? The customer has corrupted LMS and he wants to re-install LMS. So he will only re-install LMS on the same server and then re-integrate it with ACS.:-) It is rewrite the previous settings for LMS on the ACS server, isn't it?

When the customer will install LMS on the new server and the previous LMS is still integrated with ACS, what happens when the customer will integrate the new LMS with ACS?? So the customer will have two LMS servers integrated with ACS. Will there the LMS applications twice (one application for one LMS server) on the ACS shared profile?? Or the new LMS will rewrite settings for old LMS on the ACS server? Thank you.

Joe Clarke Fri, 04/03/2009 - 13:21

The new integration will overwrite the settings from the previous. However, both servers will still be registered with ACS. If all you are doing is reinstalling the same version of LMS, then when you re-register with ACS, do NOT check the box to register applications. That will preserve the current settings on ACS, and will prevent any customizations from being overwritten.

ROMAN TOMASEK Fri, 04/03/2009 - 13:34

Thank you. The last question on the end;-) So when the customer will have two LMS servers integrated with ACS, the roles for both LMS servers will be same on the ACS server. So the customer can use username which has for example role "test", which has only help desk role in the Campus Manager, on both LMS server.


This Discussion