Views
Helpful
Replies

Aironet 1200 not broadcasting; lost password

bobbyd1120
Level 1
Level 1

Hello

I have limited experience w/ Cisco equipment, yet have recently taken a position that heavily using Cisco. I am actively working on expanding my knowledge, but have ran into an issue with a device that was installed/configured prior to me.

I have 2 aironet 1200's in the office. Both are set to the same SSID, however one is not broadcasting. I used netStumbler and am only seeing on the devices; the other AP is not showing up and even when right next to it you have a very weak signal. Therfore I suspect the user is still conencted to AP 1.

I can telnet into AP 2 and log in using Cisco/Cisco and perform basic commands such as show ver, etc. However I do not have the password to log into the web interface or to use the enable commands.

I attempted to follow the password recovery at http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/wireless/ps430/products_password_recovery09186a00800949d0.shtml

However, I must be doing something wrong. I telnet to the device, log in w/ Cisco/Cisco and power cycle but I never see the Summary Status screen it speaks of.

What am I doing wrong? Thank you very much for your help!

4 Replies 4

I think you need to be connected via the console port, not telnet, in order to do a password reset. Also, my understanding of the instructions is that you need to console in and see the summary screen *before* rebooting the AP.

Thank you! OK, Ive connected via the console and am now able to see the summary screen on boot. But I must still be missing something, by following the instructions it sates to press *CTRL-W* w/ in five seconds after seeing Memory:File. Holding CTRL, pressing W does nothing. I have tried this key combination multiple times during the summary screen and still nothing. When should I do this?

Attached is the summary boot screen, hopefully it will help.