cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

VLAN help needed . . . !!!

csco_sai9k
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to the VLANS , so i would like to have suggestions from you people .

I have a 10 MB Internet >> connected to Firewall >> connected to L3 Switch >> There are about 40 L2 switches beneath this L3 Switch with no STP as the physical design itself was not done for switch to switch redundancy .

And for your information I have Windows DHCP Server which assigns IPs to the clients . As of now I haven't created any VLANS . My clarifications are :

1>> How can I create VLANS here ? Do I need to create the same in L3 switch ?

2>> If i am assigning different subnets to different VLANS how would the clients get IP from DHCP ?

3>> If possible can anyone here provide some basic configuration here to give me the idea ?

Thanks in Advance,

Max

13 Replies 13

lamav
Level 8
Level 8

Max:

When you need to create a new vlan, these are the things you have to do:

1.) On the L2 switch, create the vlan and give it a name (name is optional).

vlan 10

nam management_vlan

2.) Add the new vlan to the existing trunk that faces the L3 switch:

interface gi1/0/1

switchport

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switch trunk allowed vlan 2,3,4,10

switchport mode trunk

3.) On the L3 switch, allow the vlan on the trunk port, create the vlan and give it a name (name is optional).

vlan 10

nam management_vlan

Then add the vlan to the trunk that faces the L2 switch:

interface gi1/0/1

switchport

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switch trunk allowed vlan 2,3,4,10

switchport mode trunk

4.) On the L3 switch, create the routed L3 interface (SVI) for that new vlan:

interface vlan 10

ip address 10.10.10.0 255.255.255.0

These are the basic steps you need to perform.

As far as DHCP is concerned, if the DHCP server sits on another subnet, then you must configure the ip helper address under the routed SVI interface:

interface vlan 10

ip address 10.10.10.0 255.255.255.0