Automated Extension Mobility Activation from a Webpage?

Unanswered Question
Apr 14th, 2009

Hello,

I'm brand new to Cisco IP phones so please bear with me. We're using the 7941 phones and Call Manager Express. I've been tasked with developing a website for our company that will allow users to click on graphic that represents where they will be hotelling for the day and to have it then prompt for who they are. Upon submitting, they'd like it to automatically route that individual's extension to the phone in their desired work area.

From what I've been reading, I can see that it's possible to pull XML objects to the phone but I'm not sure if that's what I need. Also, from what I'm seeing, it appears that when users use the extension mobility feature from the phone itself that it contacts the Call Manager server's authenticate.asp script.

So with this in mind, is it possible to target the authenticate.asp script on the Call Manager server and pass it variables that will force it to activate a particular phone with the information specified?

Any help is appreciated!!

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
stephan.steiner Thu, 04/16/2009 - 00:36

You seem to use CME and CallManager intermittently.. which system is it? Call Manager has an extension mobility API (details under developer.cisco.com) which can do exactly what you need.

CME does not have that API, but if you have a high enough version, still supports extension mobility. So if it is CME, sniff out what the phone is doing (it calls some xml pages with appropriate parameters), then duplicate that behavior in your own application.. so your webapp would show the user a menu, then do a http get on the page that is normally called by the phone with the user's credentials, parses the response and shows the user whether the operation was successful or not.

compsatdrew Thu, 04/16/2009 - 04:56