cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

line/device CSS methodologies and approaches

Tommer Catlin
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

is there a better or best way to approach line/device CSS? The SRND doc of course says one way. Another way someone showed me the other day was interesting.

On the device CSS, allow ALL. (no restrictions) but then on the line, the restrictions are set by css. For example. On the line we allow Long Distance dialing only, no international.

We then create Route Patterns to block INT, but allow patterns for LD, Local, 911, etc.

Granted, there is probably a right ways to do this approach. But I have never done blocking before. I always do Class of Service by CSS/PT.

CSS_LD - (LD, Local, Internal, 911)

CSS_INT - (INT, LD, Local, Internal, 911, etc)

CSS_LD - PT_LD, PT_Local, PT, Internal, etc)

How do most design single site css/pt. Block to restricting dialing, or not including the PT that has the RP for outbound?

cheers!

6 Replies 6

michael_todd
Level 1
Level 1

This is a very common (and good) way of doing it. This is the example given in the Cisco Press CallManager Fundamentals book. I usually configure blocking patterns instead of leaving it out and hoping that nobody comes along and save an overly permissive route pattern.

A big benefit to the device+line CSS method is with extension mobility - when a person logs into a phone, their CoS and line follows them but the route group used will come from the physical phone and thus route correctly for the site. This means if you can visit a remote office and sign into a phone, your calls won't still try to go through the gateways at the home office.

on the device, is the CSS always set to the highest CSS or unrestricted for extension mobility?

Unrestricted, and then the line is restrictive. What do you mean by "highest CSS"?

Highest ... I meant unrestricted.. the way you summed it is perfect. Unrestricted at the device, restrictive on the line. Build everything else around that model.