cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Changing Internet Providers

bchyka
Level 1
Level 1

I am at a small location and we are changing interet providers from a DSL provider to a business class cable modem. With our old provider (I didn't cut this over yet), they gave us a AdTran Router which handles our voice and DSL (we dont manage it, the ISP does) and have a PIX between that Adtran and our LAN.

With the cable modem Business class service, they gave us a Gateway Address and 5 usabale IPs for a mail server, 2 web servers, PIX/VPN, etc.

I just want to make sure I do this right when I cut us over tomorrow afternoon.

Is the Gateway address for the cable modem (lets say its 10.0.0.1) go here on the PIX:

route outside 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 20.1.1.1 1 (20.0.0.1 is our current provider ip for example only)

and do I assign a randome public ip we got from cable modem provider to this line:

global (outside) 1 20.1.1.161 netmask 255.255.255.255

Sorry I am pretty new to this and got it thrown on my lap.

I will attach the current PIX config to see what needs ot be changed. It looks like the ADTRAN for our current isp is just splitting the voice and data and acting as a pass through device since the default route is on the PIX?

thanks for the help, it is greatly appreciated.

3 Replies 3

lamav
Level 8
Level 8

Hi:

your default route to the Internet is:

route outside 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 20.1.1.1 1

You will change the next hop on this statement to match the next hop (default gateway) that your new provider will give you.

Now...

global (outside) 1 20.1.1.161 netmask 255.255.255.255

nat (inside) 0 access-list inside_outbound_nat0_acl

nat (inside) 1 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0 0