CCNA Boot camps

Unanswered Question
May 3rd, 2009

Hi,

I'm a LAN admin working for the government right now. I have two Microsoft certs (MCP: Vista and Server 2003). I've decided not to continue the MCSA route and instead go the CCNA route. I failed the 3rd exam for Server 2003, so i decided maybe a boot camp would better fit my learning style. Up until now, I've been studying on my own with books.

It would be senseless to do an MCSA boot camp since I already have 2 exams out of the way. It would also be inconvienent for me to do an MCSE boot camp since they are close to $8000 and take about 15 days (Same with MCITP). So, the CCNA seems like a good choice.

My question is: I live near Washington DC. I'm considering "CCBootCamp". they are a Cisco Learning Partner and have CCIE's teaching the course.

Anyone hear anything good or bad about them? They appear affordable and the week-long course fits my schedule.

I've only been in the IT field now for a year, but I pretty much have full admin access to our Active directory, and I configure file/print servers from RAID 5 array all the way to NTFS security for shared network drives. I don't know anything about switches or routers, but I'm confident I'll learn quickly.

Thanks a lot.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
scottmac Sun, 05/03/2009 - 10:18

In my opinion, a bootcamp is not a good method for primary learning.

There is so much information presented in such a short time (days) over some long hours (per day), that it is difficult, at best, to absorb and understand the material.

Boot camps are very good to "fill in the cracks" for material that you have little or no exposure to, or need some brush-up time.

It also depends on your ultimate goal: get a cert, or know the material to a functional level.