cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Remote sites via ASA L2L VPN, bad call quality! help!

apatterson
Level 1
Level 1

Here is a breakdown of my topology (see bottom of message for details). I have a main location that has an ASA5505 with the UC500 sitting behind it. I have 2 remote sites (teleworkers) connected via ASA5505 L2L VPN tunnels. Each remote site has 1 Cisco 7945 IP phone. Traffic passes great and ping times are around 15ms-45ms. I have been battling call quality issues for several months. I've tried g711 and g729 each with a unique distortion. I have had 4 TAC cases opened, and the last TAC engineer helped me determine it was the DOWNLOAD bandwidth at my main location. Even though we have enabled qos (policing/queuing) on my upload bandwidth at all locations, when RandomUser1 downloads a big file at the main location, voice quality between the main location and the teleworker sites get really choppy. TAC is telling me this can't be controlled and I need more bandwidth. Well, if I upgrade my download bandwidth from 3mb to say 10mb, a download from microsoft.com (for example) is going to fill up that pipe as well.

Can someone please make a recommendation based on how you've overcame this hurdle with teleworker sites?

Main Location (3mb/1mb):
ASA5505
UC500

Teleworker Site 1 (20mb/2mb):
ASA5505
7945 IP Phone

Teleworker Site 2 (25mb/2mb):
ASA5505
7945 IP Phone

3 Replies 3

Steven Smith
Level 7
Level 7