VTP Doubt

Unanswered Question
davy.timmermans Mon, 05/11/2009 - 08:47

If the VTP domain and password are the same AND the configuration revision number is higher of the client switch, then the client switch will override the VLAN settings of all the other devices.

It's better to reset the configuration revision number by

or

setting it to transparent mode and then back

or change the VTP domain name and then back

Jon Marshall Mon, 05/11/2009 - 10:18

Neo

If by mis-configuration you mean change the vlan database to something different than it should be then Davy has answered your question.

Jon

Jon Marshall Mon, 05/11/2009 - 10:32

Neo

Well then, your impression is wrong :-)

Seriously if the criteria Davy outlined in his post match then a client being added to a network can and will overwrite the VTP database.

Once the client is installed on the network and working then it would not be able to overwrite anything because you can't make modifications on a client so you can't change the revision number.

Jon

Actions

This Discussion