Views
Helpful
Replies

Promblems with SIP, UC520 behind a Cisco 828 router

Eivind Jonassen
Level 4
Level 4

Hi,

I have a customer who has a cisco 828 router delivered from his ISP. Behind that router I've connected the UC520 with a global IP adress. We are supposed to use  a SIP trunk ftom a ITSP on the UC520 but are not able to get it up and running. I think it may be a NAT issue since the 828 is in front of the UC520. I'm not very good with NAT at all so any suggestions on how to make it work is appreciated.

Regards

Eivind

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Eivind,

The c800 router will be able to perform the necessary Application Layer Gateway (ALG) functions necessary in this case. Check the following document for some general considerations and theory:

https://supportforums.cisco.com/docs/DOC-9476

Thanks,

Marcos Hernandez
Technical Marketing Engineer
Cisco Systems, Inc.

View solution in original post

16 Replies 16

Hi Eivind,

The c800 router will be able to perform the necessary Application Layer Gateway (ALG) functions necessary in this case. Check the following document for some general considerations and theory:

https://supportforums.cisco.com/docs/DOC-9476

Thanks,

Marcos Hernandez
Technical Marketing Engineer
Cisco Systems, Inc.

Eivind Jonassen
Level 4
Level 4

Marcos,

If I disable NAT on the UC520, the problem is resolved???

I'm not able to configure anything on the 828 router since this is managed by the SP. They told me that there is no firewall configured on the 828 router so everything should be correct configured on their side.

The setup is like this:

Internet -> Cisco828 (global IP x.x.x.x) -> UC520 (global IP x.x.x.x)

Thanks,

Eivind