Views
Helpful
Replies

Make a VLANs talk to the internet

fieryhail
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

I need help making a Cisco router and Catalyst 3550 talk. I'm new with VLANs and such, in fact new to Cisco stuff in general. I've learned a bit and I learn quick.

Does anyone have any idea how I can connect my router to the internet, preferably managing multiple public IPs, and then connect those public IPs to the VLANs in the Catalyst 3550. Assume I am starting from a blank config on both router and switch. I have 2 Ethernet interfaces on the router. I'm trying to setup VLANs on the Catalyst, and do the routing on there.

I need the cisco router to handle my 5 public IP addresses. I think I can do that by assigning each public IP to fa0/1 having one as a primary and the other 4 as secondary. Then have fa0/0 connect to the Catalyst and have 5 subnets on there. I want to map each subnet (and subsequently LAN PCs or servers) to a specific public IP.

192.168.1.0 --> 96.xxx.xxx.170

192.168.2.0 --> 96.xxx.xxx.171 and so on.

Every time I have tried setting this type of configuration up nothing works properly. I know the equipment I have can do it, I'm just not sure how to achieve it. I know I've been close, yet not close enough obviously. I'm pulling my hair out!I must have been missing something critical in my router or switch config, but i couldn't see what it was. After butchering stuff badly many times I decided to start fresh on both, again. So, starting with blank slate, can anyone give me any ideas? Thanks in advance.

3 Replies 3

andrew.prince
Level 10
Level 10

If you just want the router to do all the layer 3 routing, then the soulution is simple.

You need to use dot1q trunking on the router interface that connects to the switch via a TRUNK.

Then perform IP subnet NAT on the router.

HTH>

jimmysands73_2
Level 5
Level 5

"Every time I have tried setting this type of configuration up nothing works properly."