Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cico ACE blades Virtual MAC addresses on both pairs are same

I am having 4 ace blades i.e two pairs of ACEs, both are running in high availability mode or fault tolerance mode. I've got shared-vlan-hostid set to different pools on both. However, it wasn't set initially, and the Admin context administrative alias IPs, as well as user contexts alias IPs, are still using the same Virtual MAC addresses on both pairs.

ACE pair 1: 00.0b.fc.fe.1b.01

ACE pair 2: 00.0b.fc.fe.1b.01

When I am rebooting, removing the alias and re-adding it, removing a context, nothing seems to prevent the MAC address collisions.

Version: system: Version A3(2.2) [build 3.0(0)A3(2.2) adbuild_20:56:50-2009/04/03_/a

uto/adbu-rel2/rel_a3_2_2_throttle/REL_3_0_0_A3_2_2]

As I am new to this can you please what I am missing?

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

ciscocsoc
Level 4
Level 4

Hi,

This is related to the way the ACE picks one of the 16 MAC-address pools (based on chassis id). This is explained in the ACE Routing and Bridging Configuration Guide Page 1-7+

"When contexts share a VLAN, the ACE assigns a different MAC address to the VLAN on each context. The MAC addresses reserved for shared VLANs are 0x001243dc6b00 to 0x001243dcaaff, inclusive. All ACE modules derive these addresses from a global pool of 16,000 MAC addresses. This pool is divided into 16 banks, each containing 1024 addresses. Each subnet can have 16 ACEs.

Each ACE supports 1024 shared VLANs, and uses only one bank of MAC addresses out of the pool. A shared MAC address is associated with a shared VLAN interface.