cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Basic VoIP setup help

scott.bridges
Level 1
Level 1

I have a network with a VoIP system setup where the previous admin has quit. I have no VoIP experience but I do have IOS experience.

My task is to add a Cisco VoIP phone to the network. I'll need to add two users to the phone and remove an existing user from the display.

Unfortunately, I'm still waiting for the Enable password to get into the UC500 device. I do, however, have the ASA and the 3750Switch config. The Switch appears to be doing QoS on the FastEthernet ports, I assume this is normal?

My main question is: What are the normal steps in adding a phone to an existing (and working) Cisco UC500 VoIP system? Will I do it via IOS? Is it all GUI? If GUI, what do I need to setup on my laptop?

Any helps or tips will be greatly appreciated. Let me know if I should post the configs I have of the switch and asa.

Thanks again

4 Replies 4

parshah
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

To add a phone in the UC500, you can do it both ways, via IOS and via GUI. Once you have access to the IOS enable you can do a sh run.

Look for ephone and ephon-dn

In UC500, you need to add the dn and phone seperately. Check this link out

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/voice_ip_comm/cucme/admin/configuration/guide/cmeadm.html

Hello,

Thanks for your reply. That's a 13MB PDF, so it's taking me some time to read through what I think I need to be reading. Much thanks.

One side issue:

I'm unable to authenticate "enable", even though I believe I have the correct password.

I am able to get in the user prompt via telnet with "admin / 12345" (example), but when I go "enable" and put in the password I have, it fails.

Strangely, I was able to go to http://192.168.2.5 and do a "sh run" with the password I have and get the running-config fine. So it must be the correct password.

Any help as to what I'm missing?

Attached is the running-config from the web interface.

Great.