Views
Helpful
Replies

How to turn of DNS interception/proxy on WRVS4400N

scramworks
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

i just replaced my previous router with a WRVS4400N, Firmware Version: V1.1.13-ETSI , and largely it's great. However I really need to stop it from intercepting DNS requests.

I'm running it in router mode with all public address pace, but due to the DNS interception:

1) it's breaking my reverse DNS, which is set up correctly on my ISPs DNS servers

2) it's not letting me query specific external DNS servers.

This is a huge issue as I'm a DNS admin and regularly need to test specific DNS servers, so the router intercepting my requets and providing an answer form some other DNS server is a huge issue.

So is there any way I can prevent this behaviour?

Thanks.

13 Replies 13

David Carr
Level 6
Level 6

I am looking at your post and trying to figure out what exactly you have going on here.  The wrvs4400n does not have dns interception on it.  Could you please elaborate a little bit more on your situation.  Thank You.

That's odd because it's acting as though it does.

Internally if I look up the IP address of the router I get the following response:

$ host 81.6.206.1
1.206.6.81.in-addr.arpa domain name pointer www.routerlogin.com.

and a failed response for any of the other reverse DNS entries at my ISP, but if I do the same look up externally I get:

$ host 81.6.206.1
1.206.6.81.in-addr.arpa domain name pointer gw.scramworks.net.

Likewise I can do things like the following:

$ host cisco.com 1.1.1.1
Using domain server:
Name: 1.1.1.1
Address: 1.1.1.1#53
Aliases:

cisco.com has address 198.133.219.25

Which simply shouldn't work, I'll check with my ISP in case they've started doing something odd that coincided with my changing router.