cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

IP multicast - best practice

ivarstrandberg
Level 1
Level 1

Hi. I'm setting up IP Multicast for the first time (I'm not experienced with Multicast at all), and I'd like a few pointers in how to set it up in the best way. Attached is a sketch of the network as it is now.

In my lab, I've managed to get it to work: the IOS switches seems to have multicast turned on by default. To get the routers to work, I just entered "ip multicast-routing" globally and "ip pim dense-mode" on the participating interfaces.

What I like to know, is how to set up multicast in my network, so only the clients on 10.1.20.0/24 get the multicast traffic from 10.1.10.37. In other words: as little noise as possible :-)

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Just to add to Giuseppe's/Joseph's posts.

Because you only have a small network you can use static RP. So assuming you choose the 6500 as the RP

1) on the 6500 and 7200 add this command in global config mode -

ip pim rp-address 10.74.2.5

2) Under each of the interfaces on the 6500 and 4500 add

"ip pim sparse-mode"

3) As already noted enable IGMP snooping on all your L2 switches.

4) Make sure that the TTL of the multicast packets are at least set to 3

Jon

View solution in original post

11 Replies 11

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello Ivar,

test in your lab PIM sparse mode is the mode that provides better control.

>> is how to set up multicast in my network, so only the clients on 10.1.20.0/24 get the multicast traffic from 10.1.10.37. In other words: as little noise as possible :-)

Sparse Mode

Hope to help

Giuseppe

When I set all four interfaces to Sparse Mode, nothing happens. Do I need to use RP or something when using Sparse?

Hello Ivar,

>> Do I need to use RP or something when using Sparse?

yes indeed sorry I didn't write it on first post and also IGMP snooping on layer2 switches is important (may be more important in a campus environment)

you can check RP with: