SIP Trunking Issues

Unanswered Question
Jul 18th, 2009

Hello Everyone,

I am having an issue with SIP Trunking. The topology of my network is the UC520 sitting behind an SR520ADSL router. The connections section of the SIP packet is showing the FA0/0 port on the UC520 (10.201.14.34). NAT is verified and working with the correct translations, port 5060. I have tried using the: CommRTR(conf-serv-sip)#bind all source-interface interface. I have set this to a loopback which is configured with the public address. The binding information appears correctly under sip-ua. However, registration with the registrar server goes down. When binding is not configured, the call is connected but audio is dropped in both directions.

I am new to SIP, so my question is: Does anyone know how to bind my public address to the "connection" section inside the packet. I'm not sure if I'm pointed in the right direction.

Thanks for your help. Regards...Matt

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
Maulik Shah Sun, 07/19/2009 - 09:27

Its hard to say much from the info given as would need configuration & version on both the UC500 & SR520 for starters. You seem to indicate 2 different issues:

- registrations do not stay up - it maybe the firewall pinhole on the SR520 being closed after no messages are sent for a certain period of time. Do you have a static NAT entry for port 5060 on the SR520 - something like:

- calls have no audio - do you have a debug of sniffer capture of this? There are typically 2 levels for the connection information in the SIP SDP - session level and media level. If the media level is getting NATTED correctly by the SR520, you should be OK as the media level takes precedence over the session level (see example below)

c=IN IP4 10.1.10.2                    << SESSION LEVEL
t=0 0
m=audio 16792 RTP/AVP 0 18 101
c=IN IP4 10.12.25.201                << MEDIA LEVEL