cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5520 w/AIP - Which service agreement(s) are needed?

dmonahan73
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys, I recently purchased an ASA 5520 with the AIP-20-SSM module and I want to take advantage of the IPS services and be covered for a year 24/7.

I've asked two resellers for quotes, and am getting different answers as to what kind of service agreement(s) I need to make sure I'm being covered.

One says I just need the Cisco SMARTnet Onsite Premium ESA (CON-OSP-AS2BUNK9) while another says I need that plus the "Cisco Services for Intrusion Prevention Systems Advance Replacement" (CON-SU3-AS2A20K9).

Do I actually need both, and if so, what do they cover? (Sorry I'm a noob to Cisco products :))

Thanks!

2 Replies 2

marcabal
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Do you know the original part number that was used to purchase the 5520 and AIP-SSM-20?

This original part number will help to determine which contract you need.

The Cisco SMARTnet contract is not correct. SMARTnet contracts cover only the ASA, and do not cover the AIP-SSMs.

For AIP-SSMs you have to purchase a Cisco Services for IPS contract.

The SMARTnet contracts cover both hardware and software.

The Cisco Service for IPS contract covers hardware and software just like SMARTnet but also covered the IPS signature support (which includes the license for signature updates).

The Standard Cisco Service for IPS contracts begin with either:

CON-SU or CON-SUO

The SU is for the standard service the SUO is for onsite service.

It is then followed by a number between 1 and 4. The higher the number, the quicker and more response service you are paying for. A 1 is for Next Business Day, while a 4 is for immediate service anytime of the day.

It is then followed by a designator specific to what the original purchased part number was.

CON-SU3-AS2A20K9 sounds like it might be what you need.