Views
Helpful
Replies

Best Practise - Multi site connection#

ronald.ramzy
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

HeadOffice is connecting to branch offic e via MPLS Cloud running BGP and some office connected point-2-point via Fiber.

OSPF is running with P-2-P offices and BGP with MPLS.

What is the best approach to accept traffic from branch-office without serivce provider ip range and allow only required network to branch office

how would ospf and bgp talk to each other, as of now its all messed up !!!

==============

##HeadOffice#

=============

Router ospf 66

network 192.168.1.0 0.0.0.255 are 0

network 172.16.1.0 0.0.0.255 area 0

172.17.1.0 0.0.0.3 area 0

###Branch_Offce ###

172.16.10.0 255.255.255.0 ( network )

## Fiber_branch_offce ##

172.16.15.0 255.255.255.0 ( network )

6 Replies 6

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Have you considered the possiblity of using BGP across the p-2-p link rather than OSPF?

Not really.

I have little knowledge of OSPF and corporate policy is to go with OSPF.

So can get some help.

Hello Ronald,

first of all you need to decide which links are primary and which are secondary.

Second it is important to know if the p-t-p links and the MPLS links are terminated on different routers or on the same node.

Using a standard configuration direct point-to-point links OSPF prefers these links.

If using a single router eBGP is preferred over OSPF on local node for better AD (20<110) but then when BGP routes are redistributed into OSPF as external routes they are less preferred then internal routes learned on p-t-p links.

So first you need to decide what you want to do and to describe the scenario.

Hope to help

Giuseppe

Hi,

At Main_Site we hve

3560 - All VLANS are configured and p-2-p link is terminated on it directly.

2800_RTR - configured with service_provider MPLS ( BGP is configured here ) and connected to 3560 as uplink