CCNA Cert Path

Unanswered Question
Jul 27th, 2009

This may seem like a silly question but....

Let's say you take and pass ICND1. Now, you start studying for ICND2... does the ICND2 exam cover the 2nd part of the CCNA exam or does it cover everything from ICND1 as well? Meaning when I'm studying for ICND2, do I need to re-study everything from ICND1 as well or can I just focus on ICND2?

In addition, once you pass ICND2, you are officially CCNA certified correct? Or is there another exam to take?

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
lyranvolcrane Mon, 07/27/2009 - 13:32

In order to obtain your CCNA, you have to pass both ICND1 and ICND2, or take the CCNA composite test. ICND2 does have some material that references, and even in some cases overlaps ICND1, but they are two totally different tests in a lot of aspects.

ICND1 in my opinion is a beginners guide that is just a bit more technical and cisco-focused than certifications like Network+.

ICND2 digs deeper into knowledge gained concerning routing and switching, and starts to detail the finer details of how routers and switches actually interact with various routing protocols and switching protocols.

It is definitely a good idea to start with ICND1 first, then ICND2, unless you feel comfortable with taking the whole composite. As I understand the composite takes a bit of everything from each course.

sking2009 Mon, 07/27/2009 - 14:34

I have Network+ 2009 edition but yeah I can definitely tell just from studying that ICND1 is a very different exam.

Thanks for the info; I'm definitely going for ICND1 first as I am in no way ready for the CCNA composite.

pipemajor Thu, 07/30/2009 - 05:51

This is the track I'm currently on. I passed the ICND1 exam a couple of weeks ago and am about 25% of the way through the ICND2 material.