Views
Helpful
Replies

gigabit ethernet to the desktop remote site

gsidhu
Level 3
Level 3

Hi,

Has anybody come across or know of bandwidth intensive applications that require end users to have gigabit ethernet network connections.

I've read the 'Deploying Gigabit Ethernet to the Desktop: Drivers

and Applications' Cisco white paper but

I'm not clear how it will benefit users at a remote site who access most of their applications from a datacenter over a 10 Mbps WAN link.

8 Replies 8

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Gurmakh

I worked in the oil industry for a while back in the late 90's and even then they were looking for gigabit to the desktop as the amount of data they were shifting was huge. As a side note gigabit ethernet wasn't ratified then so we ended up with ATM to the desktop running 155/622Mbps. All i can say is just be thankful gigabit ethernet came along :-)

But in answer to your specific question if all or the vast majority of traffic that the remote site users access is via a WAN link of 10Mbs then you are right there is little point in having gigabit to the desktop. The bottleneck will always be the WAN link.

Gigabit to the desktop is useful in situations where you have applications that shift huge amounts of data and the servers are either local to the LAN or in a gigabit/10 Gigabit campus environment.

If you don't have that setup by all means you can upgrade to gigabit / 10gigabit but you would be better off upgrading your WAN link to be honest, or of course rethinking your server placement.

Jon

Thanks Jon,

Customer has an IT guy who thinks that 10/100 switches will become obsolete/eos within the next seven years.

AFAIA 10/100 port switches still account for most new LAN deployments so I think this is highly unlikely....I hope I'm right!

Gurmakh

Gurmakh