cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Trouble configuring ASA 5505

CyberWolves_2
Level 1
Level 1

I run a very small web, email and dns hosting businessmen and had been running a PIX 506E for several years with no problems. Since it had finally reached end of life I bought an ASA 5505 with the security bundle. I'm not a firewall expert by a long shot and the commands in the 5505 are just different enough to be confusing to me. I have internet access for my internal network working fine but no matter what I try I can't get my DNS servers, web servers or email servers to be visible to the outside world. I've followed the getting started guide instructions, and even configuration guides on Cisco's website; but I'm still having trouble. Further, when I run the ASDM Packet Tracer to simulate inbound traffic coming into my services from the outside interface it reports that everything is working correctly and indicates the message should be successfully delivered to the inside host. But, in reality nothing is getting through that originates from the outside as I'm watching the syslog messages and the ASA is clearly denying traffic that should be permitted.

To make matters worse my 506E power supply died when I tried to fall back to using it so now I'm really stuck. I'm assuming I'm missing a command or something; but would appreciate any suggestions or advice on how to proceed.

Thanks!

11 Replies 11

Collin Clark
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Are you clearing the ARP table on your upstream routers at the time of the swap? Also, can you post your config?