Connecting two SPA9000 using SIP Trunk

Unanswered Question
Aug 12th, 2009


Can I connect two SPA9000 using a SIP trunk to be able to make a calls between them ?????

I have this problem too.
0 votes
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
dhames Wed, 08/12/2009 - 18:00

You can register one to the other, but you won't be able to make calls between them just by using the extensions.  The registered UID/Extension of the SPA9000 would have to be called first.

ashraf1891 Thu, 08/13/2009 - 02:31

Hi Dear

Would you please explain more.....

I have 23 users and I need to use two SPA9000 to connect them

and I know its only supporting 16 users maximum

so I was thinking how to connect these two SPA9000 to make them able to communicate each other

your fast response is highly apprecited

dhames Thu, 08/13/2009 - 14:01

No problem.  I'll explain what I did in our lab.

SPA9000 #1


Registered Line 1 to SPA9000 #2 ( with a UID of 500

SPA9000 #2


Registered Line 1 to SPA9000 #1 ( with a UID of 501

SPA942 #1


Registered Ext 1 to SPA9000 #1 ( with a UID of 100

SPA942 #2


Registered Ext1 to SPA9000 #2 ( with a UID of 101

I'm unable to call SPA942 #2 (EXT. 101) from SPA942 #1 (EXT. 100).  Since the SPA9000 that I'm registered to doesn't see an EXT 101 registered, he reports a fast busy tone.  If I call EXT 501, I get SPA9000 #2's auto-attendant.  From there I can reach 101....but only after calling the registered trunk.

Hope that helps.


donwbpa3donwbpa3 Thu, 08/13/2009 - 18:09

Would it be possible to use a prefix or the 'first' digit of an extension on the opposite system as a steering digit to direct the call out the line interface over to the other spa9k, and then have the other spa9k parse the incoming digits with some DID logic to map the call to an extension on the destination spa9000?

dhames Sat, 08/15/2009 - 20:21

Indeed that would be possible.  Granted this would involve "tweaking" each device a little bit, but it definitely can be done.  It would look something like this.....

SPA9000 #1 -

SPA9000 #2 -

SPA942 #1 -

SPA942 #2 -

SPA9000 #1                                                                  SPA9000 #2

1. Proxy info and dial plan on Line 1                        1. Proxy info on Line 1

IP:                                                 IP:

UID: 500                                                                        UID: 501

Dial Plan - (4xxx) or (xx.)

2. Call Routing Rule                                                     2. Contact List

(<:L1>4xxx) or (<:L1>xx.)                                               4200:200

3. Phone Dial Plans

(4,xxx) or (4,2xx) or (4,xx.)

SPA942 #1                                                                    SPA942 #2

Proxy info on Ext1                                                       Proxy info on Ext1

IP:                                                 IP:

UID: 100                                                                        UID: 200


SPA942 #1 would dial "4" to generate the outside line tone, then proceed by dialing 200.

The Call Routing Rule on SPA9000 #1 would then send "4200" to Line 1.

Line 1's dial plan would allow "4200" to be sent to SPA9000 #2

SPA9000 #2 then routes the caller using it's Contact List.

Since the Contact List states to send inbound caller 4200 to extension 200, SPA942 #2 will receive the call.

:-)  Hope that answers your question.

Thanks again,


ashraf1891 Fri, 08/14/2009 - 07:49


thanks very much for yor amazing demonistration

what if I want to transfer from one SPA9000 extension to another extension registered with the second SPA9000

Extension A registerd to SPA9K 1

Extension B registerd to SPA9K 2

extension C called extension A and extension A want to transfer the call to extension B

another scenario

if external dial a Line connected to SPA400 A wich is registerd with SPA9000 1

operator replyed and want to transfer the call to extension registerd to SPA9000 2

your fast feedback is highly appreciated


This Discussion