Views
Helpful
Replies

Site To Site VPN Options

jkloza
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

Just a question in regards to site to site VPN's. I currently am currently trying to design a temporary network solution for the company that I work at.

We are trying to provide connectivity to a temporary site that is around 200 miles away from our current HQ.

Both sites have connections to the public internet, so I was thinking that we could use a site to site VPN using Cisco ASA's. The current connection at the remote location is a T1.

I'm wondering what kind of performance I would have implementing a site to site VPN using Cisco ASA's. There could potentially be around 50-75 users.

I'm not very experienced with VPN's in general (other than Juniper SSL)... I'm more of a R&S guy. So, if there's a better solution out there, I'm all for hearing about it.

Thanks for any help / information in advance!

Jonathan Kloza -

3 Replies 3

i.va
Level 3
Level 3

Hi Jonathan,

the performance you would have in the sense on bandwidth would depend on the internet connections at the remote site and the "HQ". The slowest internet connection (Upload or Download) would be your bottleneck. The T1 should give you about 1.5Mbps.

If that would be enough for your 50-75 users would depend on the type of application they use. You should take the bandwidth required by the application for one user and multiply it by the amount of users you have. Then you check whether your slowest connection supports these requirements. Take note that VPN connections also have some overhead.

If these internet connections are also used for surfing the web, guaranteeing bandwidth becomes more difficult. In that case some sort of QoS would be needed.

Delay and jitter could be an issue, again depending on the applications you are using. Our VPN connections here between locations in Germany usually have about 40-100ms delay, which is good in most cases (even for VoIP).