Views
Helpful
Replies

Using BARs utility to back my CM

aktarmumin
Level 1
Level 1

hi team

i would like to back my CUCM 6.1.2 with BAR's Utility and gave up on using the freeftpd which i could get it to work.

i have downloaded the latest version of BAR software and in the cisco installation manual doc its just says to click on the installer.exe but does not say where to install ?

do i have to install this BAR utility on o a standard pc or on the call manager ?

i tried to install this on win xp pro px and i get the following error message ..about 16 bit ms dos subsystem etc ..

how do get the BAR software installed and then get it to back my CUCM>

i am new to the whole admin stuff ..

please advise, thank you

7 Replies 7

aktarmumin
Level 1
Level 1

please see the attachment for the error when installing BAR"S.

Rob Huffman
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi Aktar,

In CCM 5.x and above this is now called "Disaster Recovery System" pretty cool! So you don't need to install the BARS Utility. Here is a look at the related info;

The Disaster Recovery System (DRS), which can be invoked from Cisco Unified CallManager 6.0 Administration, provides full data backup and restore capabilities for all servers in a Cisco Unified CallManager cluster. The Disaster Recovery System allows you to perform regularly scheduled automatic or user-invoked data backups. DRS supports only one backup schedule.

The Cisco Disaster Recovery System performs a cluster-level backup, which means that it collects backups for all servers in a Cisco Unified CallManager cluster to a central location and archives the backup data to physical storage device.

When performing a system data restoration, you can choose which nodes in the cluster you want to restore.

The Disaster Recovery System includes the following capabilities:

A user interface for performing backup and restore tasks.

A distributed system architecture for performing backup and restore functions.

Scheduled backups.