Is CBT Nuggets Enough?? CCENT

Unanswered Question
Aug 19th, 2009

Hello,

I am new to Cisco but already hold several entry level certs, such as comptia's A+, Net+, MCP, ext.

I have been studying for the Cisco CCENT using the CBT Nuggets material. I think the material is presented great and I understand it! My major concern is that I also purchased a text book; "CCENT Study Guide" by Todd Lammle published by SYBEX. This textbook seems to contain TONS of material not included in the CBT Nuggets material. Do any of you have experience taking the exam only preparing with the CBT Nuggets material? Also the concepts presented in the SYBEX textbook seem very confusing. The subnetting has concepts that appear extremely hard and different than from CBT Nuggets. Will I be in good shape with just using CBT Nuggets to prepare for the exam?

I am new to the forum and would appreciate any advice.

Thank you,

Mike

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
jimmysands73_2 Wed, 08/19/2009 - 18:20

While I am watching the CBT CCNP videos, I can not say they are going to be enough...you want to rely more on the book then video. I would also recommended posting this question to the CCENT fourm on the cisco learning network, they might be able to give additional feedback:

https://cisco.hosted.jivesoftware.com/community/certifications/ccna?view=all

and

https://cisco.hosted.jivesoftware.com/community/certifications/ccent?view=all

Good luck,

Jimmy

Dean Brandt Wed, 08/19/2009 - 18:25

Hi Mike.....speaking from my experience here....no. I passed CCENT a while ago using CBT Nuggets, but alos used Chris Bryant's "handbook", and spent a mountain of time on my own lab equipmet just going through the setups, troubleshooting etc.