CCENT Exam-what to know for sub netting?

Unanswered Question
Sep 14th, 2009

I am currently studying for the CCENT exam. I have been suing CBT Nuggets as well as the CCENT/CCNA ICND1 Office Exam Certification Guide.

I am confused as to what I need to know as far as subnetting goes. In the CBT Nuggets videos I was taught how to solve three types of problems:

1) Subnetting when given a required number of networks

2) Subnetting when given a required number of clients

3) Given an IP address & Subnet Mask, finding original network range (reverse engineering a subnet problem)

In the official exam certification guide book the presented material goes way beyond those three types of problems, including knowing how to/memorizing the powers of 2, ie: 2^10 power, how many subnets and number of hosts per subnet, ext.

My question is CBT Nuggets CCENT training incomplete, or does the exam book provide more than the required information? Specifically knowing the chart of 2^x (two the number of hosts or subnets) which seems a little excessive since we can't use calculators.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have never taken a Cisco exam before.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
araujojoel Thu, 09/17/2009 - 12:20

The information presented on the CCENT/ICND2 videos is good, but additonal info on subnetting is provided on the nuggetlabs site. For the exam you need to be a subnet "master" and be able to resolve the scenarios very quickly. The best way for you to get in the exam frame of mind for subnetting, have a look at the cisco arcade ( specially the Subnet Troubleshooting Game and the The Binary Game.

The The Cisco Mind Share Game 'tests' all aspects of the CCENT/ICND exams.

Hope this helps.

mikejensen83 Fri, 09/18/2009 - 09:04

Thank you for the information. About how many subnetting/binary questions should I expect to be on the exam?

araujojoel Fri, 09/18/2009 - 09:21

if you have a look at the link below,