cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Mail from mailing list not working

rngai_ironport
Level 1
Level 1

Hi there, can I ask for opinion on this problem I couldn't solve. It's my first time here, so if this have been asked before I apologize in advance.

Here is the scenario, an outsider (eg: grp-mail@abc.com) sent an email to this group mailing list with several recipients email in it. One of the recipient email (eg: nick@xyz.com, which is my domain) is in grp-mail@abc.com mail list.

So as you might had guess, the email was never reach "nick". I did message tracking but I couldn't find sender email (grp-mail@abc.com) so I ask for mail logs from abc.com mail admin. He sent it and I could see my Ironport reject it with this code:

Tue 2009-09-01 09:33:26: From: (sender not specified)
Tue 2009-09-01 09:33:26: To: nick@xyz.com
Tue 2009-09-01 09:33:27:<-- 550 #5.1.0 Rejected by bounce verification.
Tue 2009-09-01 09:33:28: Message has no return path, it was deleted

Then I search Ironport knowledge base and found this http://tinyurl.com/yomn5f . I did apply that change but it never work. Can someone point me out where to go from here?

Thanks in advance!

8 Replies 8

kluu_ironport
Level 2
Level 2

More than likely Step #2 from the KB article is not set up correctly on your ESA appliance.

Can you provide the new mail_logs after you implemented the KB article? I want to see what HAT overview/inbound mail policy was applied to the grp_mail@abc.com address when it was an inbound message into your ESA appliance.

rngai_ironport
Level 1
Level 1

Thanks kluu. I made the following change and clearly it didn't work. I have rollback the steps below. The step #2 from the article wasn't clear to me, could you comment with better steps (eg: steps like below)?

Mail Policies - Destination Controls
Added Destination/Domain abc.com
Set Bounce Verification to No
Submit, Commit, Commit

Mail Policies - Mail Flow Policies
Added Policy BOUNCED
Submit, Commit, Commit