Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

TLS questions on C-series

HI,

I have some questions for TLS implemetiation on C150 serie.
I've read online support help, bust still not clear on TLS, since I'm new to hw it functions.

1. I've received from CA, among other certificates the TrustedRoot.crt. Should I use it somewhere in the ESA during certconifg installation?

2. If the receiving hosts (domains), are not supporting TLS, should they receive our TLS mails, signed and encrypted by ESA?

3. How can ESA logs tell that emails sent to some domains are being sent with TLS and how to troubleshoot these cases?

9 Replies 9

Andrew Wurster
Level 1
Level 1

Answering inline below:

1. I've received from CA, among other certificates the TrustedRoot.crt. Should I use it somewhere in the ESA during certconifg installation?
[AW] Yes, depending on the format of the certs, you may need to convert to PEM format first. Once you've installed the 'identity' or 'host' certificate, you will be prompted to enter in the CA's certificate or 'trusted root'. Installation instructions:
http://tinyurl.com/y7n674

2. If the receiving hosts (domains), are not supporting TLS, should they receive our TLS mails, signed and encrypted by ESA?
[AW] You would use destination controls set to "preferred" I am thinking. The ESA contacts the other side, looks for TLS capabilities, and reverts to plaintext delivery if that is not present.
more info: http://tinyurl.com/ougz3

3. How can ESA logs tell that emails sent to some domains are being sent with TLS and how to troubleshoot these cases?
[AW] There are lots of messages containing "TLS" in the string. There is a TLS report in the GUI as well. Here are some notes on this:
http://tinyurl.com/py4tw

best of luck!

andrew

Thanks for your reply.

Does TLS require a different port or the usual one (25 for smtp).
I sent an email to Google (for testing), using TLS required, but it never arrived.