Views
Helpful
Replies

VPLS deployment

mehsulsss
Level 1
Level 1

Hi there

I am new to vpls and trying to get some design advice. We have vpls from the carrier and I am thinking of implement it with ospf as bgp need static peers.

The offices are in US,Europe and Asia.

I was thinking of two options:

a) Setup OSPF local within the continents and do bgp to tie the continents redistributing the summarized routes via bgp.

b) Do ospf only even between the continents no bgp.

If anyone has design it or experience with vpls, please give me you your feedback.

I will apprecaite it very much.

Thank you

Regards.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello Mehdi,

how many sites are involved?

if they are many you need to think of a two levels hierarchy if they are in the order of several tens an OSPF only approach can be enough.

see for example this design guide

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/solutions/Enterprise/WAN_and_MAN/ngwane.html

Hope to help

Giuseppe

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello Mehdi,

how many sites are involved?

if they are many you need to think of a two levels hierarchy if they are in the order of several tens an OSPF only approach can be enough.

see for example this design guide

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/solutions/Enterprise/WAN_and_MAN/ngwane.html

Hope to help

Giuseppe

Hi Giuseppe,

Thank you for response. It's definitely helps. For now, I think it will be about 10 sites and the most it will increase will be 20.

Should I go with the OSPF only approach? and tie them with areas?

Thank you

Mehdi.

Hello Mehdi,

the number of sites 10-20 shoild mean up to 20-40 routers connected to the VPLS.

I recommend using default OSPF network type broadcast to reduce OSPF load on devices (it reduces the number of OSPF adjacencies that are needed with the DR and BDR election).