cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Possibly forged hostname????

Mose
Level 1
Level 1

I am brand new to Ironport. This is our first school year using the product. We have recently had a problem with our students or faculty replying to emails from Notre Dame University. When a student or faculty member tries to reply we get this message back.

"Your message did not reach some or all of the intended recipients.

Subject: RE: Visit to Cathedral Prep
Sent: 9/8/2009 9:57 AM

The following recipient(s) cannot be reached:

Maureen.E.Clark.179@nd.edu on 9/11/2009 9:57 AM
The e-mail system was unable to deliver the message, but did not report a specific reason. Check the address and try again. If it still fails, contact your system administrator.
<ironport>"

Any one have any ideas why this would happen? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also, so far this has happened to two emails that have been replied to that were going to two different people at nd.edu.

Thank you.

8 Replies 8

First thing you should do is look thru your mail_logs and locate the emails. Check if the receiving domain is kicking back any 4xx or 5xx errors. Also as a general rule you should always make sure that DNS is working correctly for you and you are able to resolve the MX records for that domain. If all that checks, and they indeed are rejecting your mail. Ask them politely why :D

Mose
Level 1
Level 1

This is from the bounce log:
"RID 0 - 4.1.0 - Unknown address error ('451', ['4.1.8 Possibly forged hostname for 70.60.48.227']) "

I see other emails addressed to people at nd.edu that also were kicked back with the same error. The email addresses are valid since the emails that were sent were replies to emails that were received.

Hi,