CCENT - Exam prep advice?

Unanswered Question
Sep 23rd, 2009

Hi Guys,

I'm currently studying for the CCENT, i really want to get this certification and set myself on a new career path. But I'm finding myself struggling a bit trying to understand Wendell Odom's Book "CCENT/CCNA ICND1 Official Exam Certification Guide".

I also bought a Boson version of the CCNA, and have absolutely no idea what it was on about to the point i was wondering if it was written in english.

The only other material i have is CBT nugget's video mentoring, which i had the most success in, but after doing some practice test, i find that I'm still lacking in a lot of "in depth" knowledge.

Can someone please recommend any other books for beginners? i have very limited knowledge in Networking, but i have been working in IT for the past 5 years mainly as help desk and desktop support.

Many Thanks in advance,

PS: Can someone please kindly tell me What is the average/expected time frame to study CCENT and passing the exam?

*edited for spelling*

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
Dean Brandt Wed, 09/23/2009 - 15:49

Hi...I had the same issues when studying for my CCENT last year. I initially used Wendell's book and the Boson "utility". After a bit of searching and a few questions I also ended up at CBT, and loved it. Furtehr, take a look at, I found their help and product very good indeed.

I would also recommend purchasing your own lab gear....while Boson may work for some, I found it a little painful to be honest.

Timeframe? Depends how much time you dedicate to study really...difficult to suggest anythign without knowing that, but it took me 3 months, and i was studying 3 to 4 hours a day, every day.

ahmedhusseinak Sat, 09/26/2009 - 03:58