Adding a second controller - 3750G integrated WLC

Answered Question
Sep 24th, 2009

Hello all -

I'm new at this, so please bear with me.

I've been tasked to add a second WLC to a customer's network. They currently have a 4402-50 supporting 47 access points. The customer purchased a 3750G w/ integrated WLC (50AP) anticipating the addition of several more APs, but the addition is on hold. In the meantime, the customer would like the new WLC to help balance the AP load. The existing WLC is running 6.0.182.0. The customer has a mix of 1130, 1240, 1140 and 1250 APs. They are starting to use N features.

Both controllers are now on the same subnet 10.1.113.x. I've upgraded the code on the 3750G_WLC to match the other controller. Here are some questions I have now:

1. Am I right to think I need to set these two controllers in the same mobility group?

2. Am I right in thinking I will need to manually configure each AP to point to the controller I want it to be associated with? In other words, is there an AUTOMATIC load balancing feature? (NOTE: The customer just purchased and will have installed WCS)

3. Once we exceed 50 APs, will any other configuration changes need to happen?

This is all a little sketchy for me because we are right at the limit. So.. right now we are N+1 asking to load balance between the two. Once we exceed 50 APs, we're no longer N+1 and will need to designate which APs are high priority in case of failover.

Any tips on installing this second WLC into the network and any recommendations you may have for managing these 47 existing APs is appreciated.

Cheers -

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Correct Answer by weterry about 7 years 2 months ago

So, when you define primary and secondary Controller, you specify the name of the controller. In 5.2 and above you also can specifiy the Management IP address of that controller. The AP will learn about these controller through the mobility group defined on the controllers.