cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

1841 model and IOS

hsauwcusa
Level 1
Level 1

Hello. I am new to Cisco products and this forum.

I bought 1841 for my organization, but I found out that I need to upgrade IOS in order to use Firewall, NAT and VPN.

Looks like I need to upgrade IOS. Because I did not buy it through Cisco reps, I could not get any help about it.

I am wondering if IOS upgrade can be done for free or the item description on the online store I bought from had a error.

I just need a new router for around 100 hosts.

Because 1841 does not those features, I am thinking of returning the item.

Any advice is appreciated.

Thank you very much.

11 Replies 11

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

You just need to work with a reputable Cisco reseller that will identify the upgrade part number and sell it to you.

At the same time a good idea would be to buy a support contract that give you access to software download.

Note anay IOS do NAT, so if you post here the exact IOS version it can be confirmed.

Thank you very much for your reply. Because the item description on TigerDirect said 1841 seemed to support all features I need, I thought that it was the right model for us. But I will think about buying through Cisco sales reps.

Originally, when I was reading the manual, it says 1841 does not support DHCP. IT was the beginning of my concerns. In order to support DHCP, I was told that IOS version must be 12.4(24)T1. Fortunately, it was OK.

I have already packed the router in the box. But if my memory is correct, the IOS version was 12.5(24)T17 or something like that. When I was trying to configure it, it said Firewall, NAT and VPN are not supported - you need to upgrade IOS....

I am familiar with Linksys products, and I thought Cisco router is the best choice this time. But are all Cisco routers like that? I am still trying to get 871 or 1811, but I just want to avoid any extra work for IOS upgrades or additional purchase.