Where to start with my Cisco Training Please help

Unanswered Question
Oct 1st, 2009

I am sure this questions comes up a lot as many of us as you call "newbies" ponder upon these sites looking for a direction in which we can call a career path. I know there are many very well knowledged and killed guys and gals in here. So what better place to ask for advice then here. A little background on me I have my A+ cert to go with my useless bachelors in business. I just started a job for a communications company that handles VOIP and TDM traffic. I am a engineer in training right now I mostly work with Nextones and Telica aka Plexus 9000 switches. I would love to start a career path and eventually get my CCIE like many out there. I am currently getting ready to take classes to prepare for the CCNA exam this winter. But, not sure where to go after that. I read many forms and many suggestions. Some say to go for MCSE first before the CCNA then take the CCNP get some experience then start thinking about CCIE. But, then some say MCSE is worthless and its not needed. I definetly do not want to waste my time. I am not getting any younger and hope to reach my goal soon. Please help and thank you all in advance.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
hipohoneywell Thu, 10/01/2009 - 11:59

If your goal is to work with networking devices only, then the sugestion to forget about MCSE is valid. Your path should be CCNA, CCNP an after gaining experience CCIE.

That is my sincere opinion

grooveelements Thu, 10/01/2009 - 13:15