cf card corrupt...need help

Answered Question
Oct 3rd, 2009

Hi guys,

i'm a total newbie when it comes to configuring cisco devices. Here's my problem:

when i tried to upgrade the UC520 through CCA 2.1 with the latest beta version CME 7.1 something went wrong. after reboot the UC520 did nothing. You could just hear the fan run fast. I removed the cf card and put 2 files on the cf card:

uc500-advipservicesk9-mz.124-22.YB4.bin

UC520W-8U-2BRI-K9-factory-7.1.3.cfg

after that i rebooted the UC520. Nothing works though. I copied the factory config on the flash to the startup config and rebooted again, but still nothing happens.

I cannot connect to the UC520 through CCA. I'm still connected using the console cable.

I just want to try and configure basic things with the CCA and when i get more familiar with the CLI, try a few things there. But now, i think the only way to get this box up and running is through CLI, and i don't have a clue.

Hope you guys can help me out...

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Correct Answer by Steven Smith about 7 years 3 months ago

The system is looking for more than just that 1 IP address.  Can you try copying the file you put on flash to the startup config...

copy flash:UC520W-8U-2BRI-K9-factory-7.1.3.cfg startup-config

reload and don't save if it asks.

If it still comes up with no configuration, my guess is that you changed something in the config register.  To fix the that...

hostname(config)#config-register 0x2102

Let me know if that works for you.

Overall Rating: 5 (1 ratings)
Marcos Hernandez Sat, 10/03/2009 - 06:51

The problem that you are having is likely related to the fact that vlan.dat is absent, and you will have to regenerate that file. To do so, from the CLI type:

UC500>enable

UC500#vlan database

UC500(vlan-database)#vlan 1

UC500(vlan-database)#vlan 100

UC500(vlan-database)#exit

UC500#

Let us know how it goes.

Marcos

bezmalinovic Sat, 10/03/2009 - 09:37