cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Bill of Cisco Materials (BOM) for a copper Ethernet implementation.

kumarbd02
Level 1
Level 1

I am doing a class project at UC San Diego, CA. I am not a Network engineer - hence I am asking for help. First, there is nothing confidential here and am not asking any confidential info either. I think all this data might be available already to a network engineer.

Need to engineer a building with 1500 staff and 10 floors (ave 150 people per floor, with normal work load using outlook and MS office suite). The network to provide data and voice over copper to the staff at their office cubicle.

Can some one help with a list of BOM of Cisco switches and other equipment needed:

1. what suggested switch is needed near the PBX and what switch is needed in each floor, their list prices (for this you can direct me a website, if available),

2. Physical size of the switches,power consumption, if they need air conditioning (you can refer me to a website to get power consumed, air conditioning requirment, physical, etc.),

3.whether Cat5 or Cat 6 cable is needed,

4. What type of terminal device is needed near each port (PC and a telephone) and its price, power consumption ?

5. How many repeaters are required and where and what type, cost and power (here also refer me to a web, if I can get the data) >

6. Am I missing anything ?

I need to start work on this right away and would much appreciate any one who can help with these.

Thanks.

Ben Radhakrishnan

4 Replies 4

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Not enough info here Ben.

1. Do you need PoE or VoIP? What is design like? Do you want to router per floor (L3 design) or flat Layer 2?

2. Depends on the answer to #1 regarding what model of switch.

3. Cat5 or Cat6 cable is up to you, the network designer.

5. Repeaters????