Views
Helpful
Replies

Recommendations required on using UC-500

shaikhu123
Level 1
Level 1

Dear All,

I am new to Cisco UC-500 and never have configured the device previously. I have a situation where I am stuck with a smart building IT technician who is providing us with 1 MB internet link and ISDN service through a 4-core fiber optic cable. The IT technician is suggesting me to have the following setup:

•Building data center has Cisco Catalyst 6500 that links to vertical fiber using SFP connectors.

•He is suggesting a switch which should be equipped with SFP ports where the fiber uplink will be terminated using the SFP connectors.

•For internet he is suggesting to use Cisco 871 router and as he said, no other router can work in the building.

•For telephony services he is suggesting to purchase a PBX system from himself, which is an additional cost above to the services.

I want to know instead of going with the plan provided by the building technician, can I use UC-500 and have all the data and voice connectivity. It can work as the router as well as a switch. Only thing I want know is how I will terminate the fiber into UTP from the fiber patch panel to UC-500, as it does not contain fiber uplink ports. I mean can I use GBIC connectors. For telephony services, I believe I can use SIP trunk.

Please help me if my idea of using UC-500 is doable for providing voice and data connectivity.

Thank you.

7 Replies 7

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi, first and most urgent, get yourself a reputable networking consultant, what you are begin told is confusing and contradictory, for example do you realize that a catalyst 6500 bases system can easily cost $50,000 ?

And that an 871 is just a very small etherner access router?

So, to make a proper design one would need to see the complete building plan, and more data also. In networking, things are not designed so easily.