cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Layer 2 devies and ACL's

ejrein
Level 1
Level 1

I work as a network technician and used to have my CCNA (it expired in April) however I recently came across something that was never brought up in any of my CCNA classes. I was always under the impression you could only configure ACL's on layer 3 devices (whether they were switches, routers, firewalls, etc). However I came across the fact that layer 2 devices can have ACL's configured on them.

My question is if you configure an ACL that specifies an IP address (or a range of IP addresses) how is the layer 2 device able to read the IP address of the packet? My understanding is they only read the MAC address and then send the packet on its way.

Thanks in advance!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Yes and no. If the switch was a pure cut-through switch then what you say is correct ie. once the destination mac-address has been read the frame is forwarded.

However even with modern cut-through switches they will still read addition information from the frame (such as the IP header) if it is needed to make a forwarding decision. See this doc for more details -

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/switches/ps9441/ps9670/white_paper_c11-465436.html

All current Cisco switches are store and forward with the exception i believe of some of the Nexus switches which use cut-through to decrease latency.

Jon

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Eric

A layer 2 switch can still check the IP header of a packet eg. a 2960 switch is L2 only ie. it can't route packets between subnets but this does not mean it cannot look into the IP header for QOS classification/ACL checks etc. -

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/switches/lan/catalyst2960/software/release/12.2_46_se/configuration/guide/swacl.html

Jon

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame