cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

New to Cisco Switches Cannot Access Express Setup 3750 PoE-48s

pjam
Level 1
Level 1

I have to admit I have never tried to set up a Cisco switch before, but I am now. Acquired two used Catalyst 3750 Series PoE-48 from a sister company that closed. I kept the two connected as it was at the other site. Tried to setup using Express Setup, LEDs blinked indicating i needed to "Reset the Switch". I have done this all week eight or ten times. After the reset it goes to STS, Mastr, Stat on the top switch and Syst and Stat on the bottom switch with no port lights.

Just in case I read something wrong I tried connecting to 10.0.0.1 with no success. i even tried using the IP number of the network it came from, no success.

What am I doing wrong please?

Getting very frustrated.

14 Replies 14

pjam
Level 1
Level 1

Can anyone help? I have reset the switches numerous times and when i hold down the Mode button 3 seconds afterwards I still get flashing LEDs.

Almost three weeks and noone can help? Hard to believe!

Hi Peter,

Do you see anything on the console of the switch?

You arent giving a lot of information.

See the following link for reference.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/switches/ps700/products_tech_note09186a008010ff7a.shtml

HTH

Kevin

Kevin/James,

Like I said I have no experience. I was trying to access using a CAT5 patch cable to the front.

Then after reading the link Kevin supplied I tried using the console cable. My notebook didn't have a serial port so had to find something else. At first I tried installing the cisco network Assistant. I tried scanning 10.0.0.0 and failed to connect so I tried 10.208.120.1, which was the router in its previous live still no ability to cnnect using CNA. So I tried hyperterminal. It definitely is configured for the old network as I get the prompt cmalswitch1>.

CMAL was the site code.

so how do I get into it to reset and reconfigure?

Sorry for being so ignorant.

Peter