Views
Helpful
Replies

Configuring Class of Service

femi.agboade
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am new to this subject matter and have done a bit of reading up which seems to me that CoS is nearly same as QoS.

However, I will appreciate if I can get pointers on how o go about configuring CoS on a network. The client simply wants to achieve the ability to split traffic on their network over two separate WAN links.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Femi

14 Replies 14

Nagendra Kumar Nainar
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

QoS is a feature which classifies and prioritize traffic based on requirement whereas, COS is a 3 bit field in 802.1q header which will be used as part of QoS configuration in layer2 network.

Normally, Service providers use COS term to intimate QoS.

From your requirement in above question, Am I right understanding that you need to load balance outgoing traffic via 2 WAN link?.

If so, you can use GLBP or multi group HSRP in case of Layer2 network or routing protocol tuning in case of Layer3 network.

Let us know if your requriement is different.

HTH,

Nagendra

Nagendra Kumar Nainar
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

QoS is a feature which classifies and prioritize traffic based on requirement whereas, COS is a 3 bit field in 802.1q header which will be used as part of QoS configuration in layer2 network.

Normally, Service providers use COS term to intimate QoS.

From your requirement in above question, Am I right understanding that you need to load balance outgoing traffic via 2 WAN link?.

If so, you can use GLBP or multi group HSRP in case of Layer2 network or routing protocol tuning in case of Layer3 network.

Let us know if your requriement is different.

HTH,

Nagendra

Hi Nagendra,

Apologies for responding rather late on.

You are kinda right. The client has 2 WAN links, a primary and a secondary failover that all traffic is cut over to when link 1 fails.