getting started.

Unanswered Question
Nov 5th, 2009

hi. it has been suggested to me to seek cisco certification. i have no idea where to start. i've got basic knowledge from doing custom installs on various "smart house" systems, crestron, via, and basic home stereo networking tying in alarms and thermostat controls.....for the most part, this is all trial and error of making this stuff work. the company i was with recently brought on a cisco certified guy and he actually knows how everything works.

so, i've got a little experience, i troubleshoot a lot of peoples home networks and have set up a million of them, all very basic plug and play and would like to see if i can make use of the programs here.

what's the first step? what's the first class? where do i find it? should i take it online? books? i've been watching some of the videos associated with the entry level classes which seem to be familiarizing me with the syllabus and start to finish. can some things be tested out of without a class? ok...i know, it's a million questions. hope to hear from someone soon!

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
Conor Cunningham Thu, 11/05/2009 - 13:11

Hi,

Depending on your level of cash, you can take official Cisco training courses. Information for these can be found on cisco.com.

You can also purchase videos which are really helpful.

I would also recommend doing a lot of reading - Cisco Press have some good books which you can find on Amazon and I believe you can buy them online here, too.

What I will stress to you is that you must understand the basics. You will be tested on anything and everything in the exams.

There are two ways of getting your CCNA. The first one is to do the CCNA exam and the other is to take the ICND1 and then the ICND2 exams. This is probably the best bet for someone who is new to Cisco.