IST and CST Instance

Unanswered Question
Nov 12th, 2009
User Badges:


I read about MST in SWITCHING BOOK but after completing MST, i am not able to understand functionality of IST and CST instace in MST.

can you please explain me in brief about IST and CST?

Thanks and Regards,


  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 5 (1 ratings)
Mohamed Sobair Thu, 11/12/2009 - 10:12
User Badges:
  • Gold, 750 points or more


From Cisco documentation:


Unlike PVST+ and rapid PVST+ in which all the spanning-tree instances are independent, the MSTP establishes and maintains two types of spanning trees:

•An internal spanning tree (IST), which is the spanning tree that runs in an MST region.

Within each MST region, the MSTP maintains multiple spanning-tree instances. Instance 0 is a special instance for a region, known as the internal spanning tree (IST). All other MST instances are numbered from 1 to 15.

The IST is the only spanning-tree instance that sends and receives BPDUs; all of the other spanning-tree instance information is contained in M-records, which are encapsulated within MSTP BPDUs. Because the MSTP BPDU carries information for all instances, the number of BPDUs that need to be processed by a switch to support multiple spanning-tree instances is significantly reduced.

All MST instances within the same region share the same protocol timers, but each MST instance has its own topology parameters, such as root switch ID, root path cost, and so forth. By default, all VLANs are assigned to the IST.

An MST instance is local to the region; for example, MST instance 1 in region A is independent of MST instance 1 in region B, even if regions A and B are interconnected.

•A common and internal spanning tree (CIST), which is a collection of the ISTs in each MST region, and the common spanning tree (CST) that interconnects the MST regions and single spanning trees.

The spanning tree computed in a region appears as a subtree in the CST that encompasses the entire switched domain. The CIST is formed as a result of the spanning-tree algorithm running between switches that support the 802.1W, 802.1S, and 802.1D protocols. The CIST inside an MST region is the same as the CST outside a region.




This Discussion